Adjustments

Utah is hazing us. I never considered what my body would have to do to acclimatize to a new environment. And maybe the events of the last few weeks don’t have anything to do with environment and are simply just seasonal illnesses, but whatever the reason a sickness has fallen upon Smith household. It all began about 3 weeks ago with what I thought was just a chest cold. I spent a week hacking to the point I thought I broke a rib. After an almost bed ridden trip to Capitol Reef National Park over Thanksgiving weekend (I got one hike in so it counts), I decided I needed to get checked out because my cough wasn’t going away and my left ear wouldn’t pop and felt clogged. So, I got to take my first trip to an urgent care here in SLC and found out my cough had caused ear infections in both ears which got so bad my left ear drum ruptured and I didn’t break a rib, but the flesh had pulled away from my rib causing sharp pains in my side. It’s now 3 weeks later and after lots of meds, my cough is finally going away, but both my ears are still healing and I’ve been told I won’t have full hearing in both of them for approximately 3 months. Now that I’m on the mend, it seems it’s Derek’s turn. My husband, who never gets sick, got the flu this week and has been bed ridden for the last 3 days. This is torture for a guy who is so active he can’t sit still for more than a few minutes. This hit the same week my parents, my brother, and his fiancรฉe are all visiting for the holidays from North Carolina. As usual though, they have been so understanding and caring for the both of us and have rolled with the punches as plans have changed. Needless to say these last few weeks in Utah haven’t been the most exciting, but we did have a wonderful Thanksgiving with friends and have enjoyed spending time with my family and showing them around our new city this week.

So, if sickness is the biggest bump in the road we face during this move, then we are good because the rest of this year has been one for the books and I don’t doubt that 2015 will be any less awesome. We are excited for whatever Utah has in store for us, whether good or bad because it’s all a part of life. And life is…well…awesome! Here’s to health and to the start of the last year of my twenties, there’s many more travels and adventures ahead.

Jaclyn

 

Leave a Reply

